Rachmaninoff Symphonic Dances


  • Rachmaninoff's final work, Symphonic Dances, is a romantic Russian masterpiece that combines rich lyricism with orchestral color. 
  • Prokofiev's warm and vivid Third Piano Concerto complements these lush sounds, with pianist Lukáš Vondráček returning to the Charlotte stage.
  • An orchestral "foxtrot" from contemporary composer John Adams rounds out this evening of dances.

Christopher Warren-Green, conductor
Lukáš Vondráčekpiano

JOHN ADAMS The Chairman Dances
PROKOFIEV Piano Concerto No. 3
RACHMANINOFF Symphonic Dances

This concert is also available with a Create-Your-Own or FlexPass package. Subscribe and Save!

On Friday, January 25, come early and learn about the evening's program from Resident Conductor Christopher James Lees. Pre-concert talk begins at 6:30 p.m. in the downstairs Wells Fargo Auditorium lobby.

On Saturday, January 26, the Charlotte Symphony Youth Orchestra will perform a concert prelude beginning at 6:15 p.m.

*Please note guest artist change from Gabriela Montero. Ms. Montero regrets that she is unable to perform with us this season.

This concert is generously sponsored by Marand Builders.