Symphony 101



Please note location change for 2018 Symphony 101 events from Founders Room in Founders Hall to Southminster.

The Charlotte Symphony is committed to delivering exceptional music experiences. We understand that the context and history of composers and their works can be a valuable component of the music-going experience.

Symphony 101 is series of free, adult-learning opportunities across our community, led by Davidson College Symphony Orchestra Music Director Tara Keith. Lectures take place in multiple locations, and themes complement the Symphony's season programming. Registration is encouraged.

2017-18 Season
The Orchestra:
An Organized Circus
Thursday, October 12, 12 p.m. (Founders Room)
Friday, October 27, 1 p.m. (Gorelick Hall, Levine Jewish Community Center)
 
Praise & Protest:
Meeting the Demands of 19th Century Audiences
Thursday, November 16, 12 p.m. (Founders Room)
Friday, November 17, 1 p.m. (Gorelick Hall, Levine Jewish Community Center)
 
Baroque: The Period of "Imperfect Pearls" Thursday, January 4, 12 p.m. (Southminster, Great Room B)
Friday, January 19, 1 p.m. (Gorelick Hall, Levine Jewish Community Center)
 
Disability & Dynamic Music Thursday, March 8, 12 p.m. (Southminster, Great Room B)
Friday, March 9, 1 p.m. (Gorelick Hall, Levine Jewish Community Center)
 
An Introduction to 20th Century Musical Dialects Friday, April 27, 1 p.m. (Gorelick Hall, Levine Jewish Community Center)
Thursday, May 3, 12 p.m. (Southminster, Great Room B)

Please register below. If you would like to register by phone, please call 704-644-0867 ext. 5134.

First name: *
Last name: *
Email: *
Street address:
City:
State:
Zip code: *
Phone: *
Please select which session of Symphony 101 you will be attending: *